Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Command switches

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    129
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Command switches

    Does anyone know what the all the command switches in C4 do?
    I got some of them figured out easy enough, but cant seem to get the rest sorted.

    /D - Reads files outside the .pff
    /AA - Anti-Aliasing ?
    /NOHUD - Removes your HUD in game
    /VIDTEST - Runs a vidieo test at when you start your game
    /BADPACKETS - shows a monitor in-game of packets lost
    /? - Gives a list of other commands (does the record demo work?)
    /NOPARTICLES - Removes particles from explosions, missle trails, ect.
    /NETMETER - ?
    /NETLOG - ?
    /NOSMOKE - No Smoke from DF ?
    /NOCASINGS - No bullet casings from DF ?
    /NOBLOOD - No blood splatter from DF ?
    /SYS - System information
    /2 - ?
    /16 - ?
    /L - Turn on error log
    /S - Save scores
    /NOSTAT- Will not record end of game stats ?
    /FRISK - ?
    /PUNT.TXT - Records a puntlog.txt of players punted ?
    /?? - For the pilots who cant play very good

    Thats all I got listed except for the ones in /? which is already explained.
    Last edited by Knuckles; 01-26-2008 at 09:23 AM. Reason: after reading i had no clue of what i was saying lol

  2. #2
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    177
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    Why don't you list them all???
    With the ones you figured out.
    /?? is a good one lol

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    129
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches


  4. #4
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    177
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    Not trying to be smart, but would like to know them all too. If you have the time you could do it with a hex editor.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    129
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    sorry, i didnt know you were trying to be smart your first post Redbaron.
    I was just looking for a point in the right direction on a project.

    Thx i'll look somewhere else

  6. #6
    Comanche Fighter Squadron W@tchtower*CFS*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    the left forward farp
    Posts
    195
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    Previously posted by Avenger sometime ago:

    http://www.checkpointdelta.net/forum...59&postcount=7

    // DISPLAY
    windowed = 0 - Game is viewed in full screen, 1 for a windowed game. 'Option in Game Menu'
    hw3d_deviceno = 0 - used for testing your vid card ?????
    hw3d_name = "NVIDIA GeForce FX 5600"
    hw3d_guid = "D7B31E3E-4052-11CF-136D134200C2CB35"
    hw3d_res640x480 = 1 resolutions passed vid test........'Option in Game Menu'
    hw3d_res800x600 = 1 resolutions passed vid test........'Option in Game Menu'
    hw3d_res1024x768 = 1 resolutions passed vid test........'Option in Game Menu'
    hw3d_res1280X1024 = 1 resolutions passed vid test........'Option in Game Menu'
    hw3d_res1600X1200 = 0 resolutions did NOT pass vid test........
    game_res = 5 - resolution chosen. 'Option in Game Menu'
    vsync = 0 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    gamma = 0.6 - brightness in game. 'Option in Game Menu'
    no_anim = -1 - stop the playing of the opening animation/intro of the game?? 'Option in Game Menu'
    window_size = 1 - resolution if viewed in windowed mode
    version = 3 - ?
    turbo = 0 - I believe this was when computers had a turbo mode button and this would disable/enable this.
    windows_volume = 128 - may be used for binkplay animations? 'Option in Game Menu'
    music_volume = 190 - mostly for menus. 0-255 'Option in Game Menu'
    SFXLevel = 254 - explosions, etc. , 0-255 'Option in Game Menu'
    DialogueLevel = 160 - ingame menu, or when they say "waypoint" etc... 0-255
    rotor_volume = 0 - your own rotor volume. 0-255 'Option in Game Menu'
    terrain_detail = 2 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    object_detail = 1 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    texture_res = 1 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    water_quality = 2 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    shadow_quality = 1 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    particle_density = 0 - on/off particles in object destructions. 0-1 'Option in Game Menu'
    antialias_mode = 1 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    foliage = 1 - on/off grass on terrains. 0 or 1. 0 may be less strain on older video card?
    rotorwash = 1 - on/off rotorwash
    grouping = 0 - ?
    bit_depth = 32 - color depth. 16 bit or 32 bit 'Option in Game Menu'
    disable_shaders = 0 - vid setting 'Option in Game Menu'
    hud_color_index = 7 - headsup display color. default is 3= bright green. 7=orange. 1-15
    hud_detail = 0 - cycles different hud configs.
    NoBlood = 0 - not used ?
    NoCasings = 0 - not used ?
    NoSmoke = 0 - turns on/off smoke effects in game ?

    // CONTROLS
    crosshairs = 1 - not used?
    crosshairs_color = 7 - not used?
    showgun = 3 - not used?
    picinpic = 0 - not used?

    // MULTIPLAYER
    mpattrib = 0 ?
    mp_gameport = 0 ?
    mp_vonport = 0 - used for nova Voice Over Net. not used.
    mp_usealtnwport = 0 - used for serving?
    login_password = "" 'Option in Game Menu'
    game_password = "" 'Option in Game Menu'
    squad_password = "" ?
    game_name = "server 1" - used for game name while serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    phone_number = "" - not used
    internet_address = "0.0.0.0" not used - used for serving?
    mp_service = 1 - used for serving.
    mp_difficulty = 1 - easy, normal, advanced setting
    mp_gametype = 0 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    maxplayers = 16 - used for serving 'Option in Game Menu'
    dedicated = 0 - 0=serving and play. 1=serve only. 'Option in Game Menu'
    com_port = 0 - not used
    baud_rate = 0 - not used
    max_team_lives = 100 - not used - for serving
    max_kills = 20 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    team_req = 0 - used for serving
    startdelay = 1 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    destroybuild = 0 - not used. - for serving
    deathmes = 1 - not used - - for serving
    replay = 0 - 0=NO, serve 1 map. 1=YES, serve same map over & over. 2=Cycle maps. 'Option in Game Menu'
    time_limit = 30 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    koth_limit = 5 - used for serving. 1-5
    timeout = 0 - Respawn Timer, - for serving
    mp_numteams = 2 - used for serving. 2 team game or 4 team game.
    MPWeaponMasks = 0 - not used.--- possibly No Skins - for serving????
    showtags = 0 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    contest = 0 - not used?
    flagreturntime = 210 - not used. for serving CTF
    level_restricted = 0 - not used
    min_level = 0 - not used
    max_level = 0 - not used
    ping = 1 - not used
    location = "" - not used
    friendly_fire = 0 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    friendly_fire_w = 0 - used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_team_req = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_cannon = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_hydra = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_stinger = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_hellfire = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_efams = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_artillery = 0- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'
    allow_autotargeting = 1- used for serving. 'Option in Game Menu'

    // MAP
    map_infrared = 1- used for serving?
    map_iff = 1- used for serving?
    map_AWAC = 1- used for serving?

    // SYSTEM
    player_index = 0 - options are: 0-3
    //example from the c4 player selection screen.
    //---0-------------1-------------2---------3
    //MasterX-----BKC-Server-----Admin-----Nooby
    preempt_pff = 0 - ?
    whichbrowser = 0 - not used
    country = "" - not used
    red_password = "" 'Option in Game Menu'
    blue_password = "" 'Option in Game Menu'
    yellow_password = ""
    violet_password = ""
    mp_verbose = 1 - turns hud on/off ?????
    play_exit_credits = -1 - stops play of credits automaticly, -1, 0, 1 'Option in Game Menu'
    mp_NoCharAbilities = 0 - not used
    mp_NoCrossHairSpread = 0 - not used
    mp_NoScopeDrift = 0 - not used
    mp_NoWeaponRecoil= 0 - not used
    mp_gpsicons = 0 - not used
    mp_wind = 0 - not used
    mp_DroppedWeaponDisappear = 0 - not used
    mp_NoDropWeapons = 0 - not used
    mp_NoRespawnWithPrimary = 0 - not used
    mp_ServerGamePort = 0 - used for serving.
    mp_ClientGamePort = 0 - used for serving.
    AltLock = 1 - locks neutrel targets? 'Option in Game Menu'
    AltLockType = 1 - cycle/nearest ? 'Option in Game Menu'

    *CFS* Own the Skies

  7. #7
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    177
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    Not the same as what he wants to know.

  8. #8
    Admin Bluetiereign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,555
    Downloads
    59
    Uploads
    3

    Re: Command switches

    what just happened here ?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    129
    Downloads
    22
    Uploads
    0

    Re: Command switches

    I'm sorry maybe I came with the wrong approach. I was wanting to edit certain unneeded items and was just curious as to what those items above where. Once those things that are not needed are removed, I want the new (edited) c4.exe to put up the error 'incorrect game version" (built in game) if someone without the proper fix tryies to join my server. Unless the game come to a point where this is considered taboo?

  10. #10
    Admin Bluetiereign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,555
    Downloads
    59
    Uploads
    3

    Re: Command switches

    Quote Originally Posted by Knuckles View Post
    I'm sorry maybe I came with the wrong approach. I was wanting to edit certain unneeded items and was just curious as to what those items above where. Once those things that are not needed are removed, I want the new (edited) c4.exe to put up the error 'incorrect game version" (built in game) if someone without the proper fix tryies to join my server. Unless the game come to a point where this is considered taboo?
    Hmmm... well then.

    The game is old. The game needs to be fixed. IMHO, fixing it will require removing more than just a command switch or two. In fact, if I remember correctly, removing command switches will only remove one problem (that one allows players to see others on the map, long before they show up on radar)

    I'm not really up on the command switches. I've hex edited and played with the .exe to the point of being able to do some wild stuff in the game, but I just don't have the time to play around like I used to.

    To answer your question about editing the C4.exe, it may not be taboo and you can likely do that, but I'm thinking you will have to alter the version number, the person will be kicked from the game and the only message they get is 'incorrect game version'. How is the person being tossed supposed to know where they get the version they need ? Just a thought.

    Salute to SAI and CFS....

Similar Threads

  1. {WP}Wolf Pack: "Joint Special Operations Command" Is Recruiting
    By {WP}ZeroDivide in forum Joint Operations Typhoon Rising
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-28-2004, 01:08 PM
  2. C4 - Command Line Options
    By Inso «Ð*§*§» in forum Comanche 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-06-2003, 02:35 PM
  3. Command and Conquer Generals
    By EscapedTurkey in forum Whatever
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 08:56 PM
  4. Command prompt
    By unoyt in forum Comanche 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 08:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •